ATG News and Announcements 6/27/19

by | Jun 27, 2019 | 0 comments

 

 

  • Springer Nature accelerates its transformative journey with the signing of landmark pure Open Access (OA) deal

According to this press release “two further new read and publish deals drives Springer Nature’s transformative deals into double figures. New agreements agreed this week with the Bibsam consortium in Sweden and Norway’s Unit consortium takes the number of Springer Nature’s read and publish deals to ten, putting the publisher firmly on the path to becoming a transformative publisher…”


infoDOCKET reports that “the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) has received a 24-month, $1.2 million grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to support general operations starting July 2019. The grant provides funds for core administrative and management staff that support the broad range of CLIR’s programmatic activity…”


Also according to infoDOCKETThe Wolbach Library at the Center for Astrophysics and the Libre Space Foundation recently received funding from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to create new infrastructure to support small satellite missions and enable public engagement with space technology.
… The funding provided by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation will support two specific Space Library projects: MetaSat and the Library Space Technology Network (LSTN).


ARL News notes that “theAssociation of Research Libraries (ARL)/Society of American Archivists (SAA) Mosaic Program Selection Committee has accepted five master of library and information science (MLIS) students from historically underrepresented racial and ethnic groups into the competitive diversity fellowship program. The ARL/SAA Mosaic Program, funded by a generous grant from the US Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and by ARL members, promotes much-needed diversification of the archives and special collections professional workforce…”


According to ACRL Insider those who are interested can “learn about ACRL’s new research agenda Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future in a free ACRL Presents webcast on Monday, July 15, 2019, from noon – 1:00 p.m. Central time (10:00 – 11:00 a.m. Pacific | 11:00 am – noon Mountain | noon – 1:00 p.m. Central| 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Eastern. Convert additional time zones online.)…


The Institute for Scientific Information at the Web of Science Group launched a new report which examines the research performance of the G20 with a visual comparative snapshot for each G20 nation, ahead of the Osaka summit in Japan from June 28-29. The Web of Science Group is part of Clarivate Analytics plc, a global leader in providing trusted insights and analytics to accelerate the pace of innovation.


 

 

MORE LIBRARY AND PUBLISHING NEWS FROM A VARIETY OF SOURCES

Pin It on Pinterest