ATG Conferences, Meetings & Webinars 10/20/18

by | Oct 20, 2018 | 0 comments

Open Teleconference

Event Date:

MECA is a new NISO project to develop a common means to easily transfer manuscripts between and among manuscript systems, such as those in use at publishers and preprint servers. Those who work in manuscript-processing areas such as production systems, preprint servers, and authoring services are engaging in community development of a NISO Recommended Practice intended to alleviate pain points encountered by researchers as well as service providers operating in the scholarly ecosystem.MECA Working Group co-chair Tony Alves will describe the pre-NISO work and how the new NISO working group is tackling the next tasks on the way to publication…”


“ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions announces an exciting new workshop, Data Privacy: Protecting Your Library, Yourself, and Your Patrons with Nicole Hennig. This workshop will last 90 minutes and take place at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific on Wednesday, December 12, 2018.
Maintaining patron privacy is a primary concern for libraries. With news overwhelmingly covering security and data breaches, you may be wondering what you can do to help keep your users data secure.In this workshop, Nicole Hennig covers the best practices that your library can follow to ensure your staff and your library users’ data is as safe as possible. While there is no such thing as foolproof security and privacy, there are strategies and actions you can take to protect your data…”


“… Join the American Library Association (ALA) Public Programs Office and the Center for News Literacy at Stony Brook University for a one-day workshop to learn how your library can help your adult patrons be smarter news consumers.“Empowering Patrons through News Literacy” will be held from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 25, 2019, at the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle. The preconference workshop is offered as part of the 2019 ALA Midwinter Meeting (Jan. 25 to 29).Workshop registration starts at $250 for ALA members. See pricing and registration instructions under the conference Ticketed Events page under “PPO (Public Programs Office).”Participants may register for the workshop as part of their conference registration or as a single session. For assistance with registering for the workshop, contact the ALA Public Programs Office at 312-280-5045 or publicprograms@ala.org.In “Empowering Patrons through News Literacy,” Michael Spikes, director of the Digital Resource Center for the Center for News Literacy at Stony Brook University, will provide attendees with the tools and skills needed to help patrons identify trustworthy information and move from passive consumers of the news to active contributors.

Participants will also have the opportunity to work with their fellow attendees to incorporate what they learn into ideas for programming and services for their communities.

ALA and the Center for News Literacy at Stony Brook University previously partnered on Media Literacy @ Your Library, a pilot program that trained library workers to help adults become better news consumers. To stay up-to-date on future Media Literacy @ Your Library offerings, sign up for ALA’s Programming Librarian e-newsletter…”


Building knowledge, skills and confidence in digital resource negotiation

Course purpose:

  • A six-week fully-facilitated online course enabling librarians, contract managers and other professionals to negotiate with vendors of digital products and services with greater confidence, skill, ease and impact.
  • The course is highly practical, sharing knowledge, skills and tools which you can apply immediately to on-going and future negotiations, both new contracts and those you are renewing.
  • Working in a small group, we will explore the process, the possibilities and the pitfalls of negotiations in a safe, supportive and courageous environment.

Course learning goals

  • Strengthen your negotiation knowledge and skills to optimize negotiation outcomes
  • Offer practical tools and models designed to grow your negotiation confidence and competence
  • Share:
    • The 4 cornerstones of successful negotiations
    • The 7 habits of highly effective negotiations
    • The 3 Cs of confident negotiations
  • Explore:
    • Common negotiation styles and common negotiation challenges
    • The power of a positive mindset and managing our emotions
    • A clear and simple model for building rapport and influence
  • Practice the above with realistic negotiation scenarios
  • Share practical handouts which support you at each stage of negotiation
  • Benefit from the wealth of wisdom and experience in the group…

Early-bird pricing is available for colleagues who book on or before November 30th. The booking form is available here:http://www.sarahdurrant.co.uk/negotiation-skills-online-registration-2019…”


Date: Thursday 25th October 2018
Time: 1.30pm BST (other timezones: 5.30am PDT, 7.30am CDT, 8.30am EDT, 9.30am BRT, 1.30pm CET, 1.30pm WAT, 2.30pm SAST, 6.00pm IST, 11.30pm AEDT).

This webinar is free and open to the public. Link to registration page: http://www.cvent.com/d/cbqwbc

What are the economic implications of publishing research open access? What do economically efficient models for open access look like at the moment, how do they differ between different kinds of publishers, and what might they look like in the future? Is there a sufficiently robust funding stream to finance open access? How variable is this across the world and across the various disciplines? How do we build sustainable models? What can we learn from other digital sectors?

In this webinar chaired by Dr Stuart Taylor, Publishing Director at the Royal Society, different perspectives on the economics and sustainability of open access publishing will be presented and discussed by panelists Dr Rupert Gatti, Fellow and Director of Studies in Economics at Trinity College, Cambridge, and Cofounder of Open Book Publishers; Liz Ferguson, Vice President of Editorial Development at Wiley; and Claudio Aspesi, an independent consultant in the media and publishing industry…”

 

Sign-up Today!

Join our mailing list to receive free daily updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

We Need Your Feedback!

We Need Your Feedback!

Please take a moment and send us your thoughts on our new website design.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest