Professional Growth and Development Opportunities

  •  Association of Learned & Professional Society Publishers;
  • ACRL;
  • CRL

Date: 26 April 2018,
Time: 10:00 EST, 15:00 BST, 16:00 CET 

How can scholarly publishers reconcile their desire to serve the research community with their commercial need to benefit from it? Join chair and speakers below to explore the role publishers play in communicating research. What are the limiting factors and how might these be overcome to improve dissemination of knowledge?

Chair, Liz Allen, F1000

Liz is Director of Strategic Initiatives at F1000, and involved in shaping new initiatives and partnerships to promote and foster open research. Liz serves as a member of the Advisory Board for the Software Sustainability Institute, based at the University of Edinburgh, and is co-Chair of the CASRAI CRediT Programme Committee.

Richard Horton, Editor-in-Chief, The Lancet.

Richard joined The Lancet in 1990, moving to New York as North American Editor in 1993. Richard was the first President of the World Association of Medical Editors and he is a Past-President of the US Council of Science Editors. He is an honorary professor at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University College London, and the University of Oslo.

Jason Hoyt, Co-Founder & CEO, PeerJ

PeerJ, is a fully peer-reviewed and Open Access journal in the Biological, Medical and Environmental Sciences. Prior to founding Peer J, Jason was Chief Scientist at Mendeley. He holds a PhD in Genetics from Stanford University.

Register for this webinar

Can’t make the date? If you are unable to join the webinar(s), you can still register and receive a recording for viewing at a time to suit you.


ACRL Insider asks “are you interested in applying for one of the new Academic Library Impact Research Grants? Join us for a free webinar on Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 1 p.m. Central Time (2 p.m. EST, 12 p.m. MST, 11 a.m. PST) to learn about the program and application process.

ACRL is offering grants of up to $3,000 each for librarians to carry out new research in areas suggested by the 2017 report Academic Library Impact: Improving Practice and Essential Areas to Research (prepared for ACRL by OCLC Research and available for download or purchase). During this live discussion, the chair of the Value of Academic Libraries Committee will share information about the background and focus of the grant program. Learn how to strengthen your proposal and ask questions about any aspect of the CFP or application process.

Facilitators:

Alan Carbery, associate library director at Champlain College and chair of ACRL’s Value of Academic Libraries committee

Sara Goek, Mellon/ACLS Public Fellow and ACRL Program Manager

How to register

Submit your free registration online by Wednesday, March 7 at 12 p.m. CT. This session will be recorded and made available shortly after the live event.

For more information

Read the complete call for proposals and frequently asked questions on the ACRL website. The application deadline is April 1, 2018. Any further questions should be directed to [email protected].


The agenda for CRL’s Global Resources Collections Forum in Chicago on May 17-18, is filling out. Confirmed speakers include Clifford Lynch (CNI) and Derek R. Petersen (recent MacArthur award recipient). The Forum will explore how the advent of digital media has transformed the “supply chain” for research materials such as news, government information, and economic and geospatial data, and will consider how CRL and its community can best deploy resources in this new environment.