Two awards were presented at the conference.

Cynthia Graham Hurd Memorial Scholarship Award

Cynthia Hurd was a librarian who tragically lost her life in the June 17, 2015 shooting in the Mother Emmanuel AME Church (which is just a few steps from the Gaillard Center). This award, sponsored by Springer Nature, is given in her memory to a librarian who would not be able to attend the Charleston Conference because of a lack of funding support.  This year it was presented to Charlene Maxey-Harris, Associate Professor of Libraries at the University of Nebraska.

Charlene Maxey-Harris

Charlene Maxey-Harris (photo of Cynthia Hurd behind her)

ABC-Clio Vicky Speck Leadership Award

This award, sponsored by ABC-Clio, is given to a person who has made significant contributions to the Charleston Conference’s organization and operations. This year’s award was presented to Judy Luther, President, Informed Strategies by Beth Bernhardt.

Judy Luther and Beth Bernhardt

Judy Luther (L) and Beth Bernhardt (R)

Congratulations to the winners!


Sign-up Today!

Join our mailing list to receive free daily updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!