ATG People in the News 11/30/17

by | Nov 30, 2017 | 0 comments

Brill NV, …, announces the appointment of Jasmin Lange (39) as Chief Publishing Officer and member of the Management Team, as per January 1st, 2018. Within Brill’s senior leadership, Jasmin will lead Brill’s publishing teams and focus on further expanding Brill’s offering to the scholarly community.

German-born Jasmin Lange joined Brill in 2011 as Assistant Editor and has worked as Business Development Manager since 2012. In this role, amongst others, she focused on developing Open Access within Brill, developing new business models and integrating newly acquired publishing activities into the Brill portfolio. Most recently, Jasmin played a key role in the acquisitions of Schöningh & Fink and Mentis in Germany and Sense Publishers in the Netherlands. Before joining Brill, Jasmin worked in the publishing business and as a researcher in Germany, the USA and the UK.

Today 10 librarians were honored with the prestigious 2017 I Love My Librarian Award for their outstanding public service contributions. Selected from more than 1,100 nominations submitted by library users nationwide, including educators and members of the public, the winning librarians are being recognized for their leadership in transforming lives and communities through education and lifelong learning

The 1,125 nominations detail how librarians working in public, school, college, community college or university libraries have gone above and beyond to improve community members’ lives. In the United States there are 190,000 librarians working in libraries of all types, and only 100 librarians have been selected for this distinguished honor since the award’s inception in 2008…

The 2017 I Love My Librarian Award recipients include three academic librarians, four public librarians and three school librarians. This year’s winners are:

  • Julie Bill
    Musicians Institute College of Contemporary Music
    Los Angeles
  • Sheikla Blount
    Columbiana (Alabama) Middle School
  • Annie Cipolla
    Los Angeles Public Library
  • Rosemary Cooper
    Albert Wisner Public Library
    Warwick, New York
  • Laurie Doan
    Tredyffrin Public Library
    Strafford, Pennsylvania
  • Mary Jo Fayoyin
    Savannah (Georgia) State University
  • Natalia Fernández
    Oregon State University
    Corvallis, Oregon
  • Marcia Kochel
    Druid Hills Middle School
    Decatur, Georgia
  • Rita Platt
    St. Croix Falls (Wisconsin) Elementary
  • Timothy Ryan
    Rochester (New York) Public Library

For more information regarding the 2017 I Love My Librarian Award recipients, please visit

ARL News reports that “the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Leadership Fellows program facilitates the development of future senior-level leaders in large research libraries and archives. The Association has selected 30 individuals to participate in the 2018–2019 cohort of this executive leadership program…

The 2018–2019 Leadership Fellows applicant pool was highly competitive. The new fellows represent a broad array of backgrounds, experiences, and institutions. The 2018–2019 fellows are:

  • Laurie Alexander, Associate University Librarian for Learning and Teaching, University of Michigan
  • Dale Askey, Associate University Librarian, McMaster University
  • Heather Berringer, Chief Librarian, Okanagan Campus, University of British Columbia
  • Jessica Clemons, Associate University Librarian for Research, Education, and Outreach, University at Buffalo, SUNY
  • K. Matthew Dames, Associate University Librarian, Georgetown University
  • William Gillis, Director of Research Services, The George Washington University
  • Christina Gola, Director of Recruitment and Organizational Learning, University of Houston
  • Geoffrey Harder, Associate University Librarian, University of Alberta
  • Jill James, Associate Director for Information Products, National Agricultural Library
  • Holly Jeffcoat, Interim Vice Provost for Libraries, University of Connecticut
  • Michelle Light, Director, Special Collections, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Elisabeth Long, Associate University Librarian for IT and Digital Scholarship, The University of Chicago
  • Brian Mathews, Associate Dean for Learning and Outreach, Virginia Tech
  • Sian Meikle, Director, Information Technology Services, University of Toronto
  • Elizabeth Mengel, Associate Director Collections and Academic Services, Johns Hopkins University
  • Valrie Minson, Chair, Marston Science Library, University of Florida
  • Caroline Muglia, Co-Associate Dean for Collections, University of Southern California
  • Maud Mundava, Library Director, Cleveland State Community College
  • Carmelita Pickett, Associate University Librarian, The University of Iowa
  • Jeannette Pierce, Associate University Librarian for Research, Access, and Instructional Services, University of Missouri
  • Greg Prickman, Head, Special Collections, The University of Iowa
  • Brian Quigley, Head, Engineering and Physical Sciences Library Division, University of California, Berkeley
  • Leslie Reynolds, Interim Dean of Libraries, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Jenn Riley, Associate Dean, Digital Initiatives, McGill University
  • Hilary Seo, Associate Dean, Curation Services, Iowa State University
  • Jon Shaw, Associate University Librarian for User Services and Resource Management, University of Pennsylvania
  • Julie Silverman, Associate Director, Collections and Access Services, The George Washington University
  • Michele Tennant, Associate Director, Biomedical and Health Information Services, University of Florida
  • Jennifer Vinopal, Associate Director for Information Technology for University Libraries, The Ohio State University
  • Evviva Weinraub, Associate University Librarian for Digital Strategies, Northwestern University

For more information, visit the ARL Leadership Fellows program webpages.

Sign-up Today!

Join our mailing list to receive free daily updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest