ATG People in the News 10/27/18

by | Oct 27, 2017 | 0 comments

infoDOCKET notes that a video recording of Dr. Carla Hayden’s keynote address at the 2017 CILIP (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals) Meeting is now available online. It runs 54 minutes.

The speech was recorded on Wednesday, July 5, 2017, in Manchester, UK.

A text summary of Dr Hayden’s speech is available here.

“Mary Ann Mavrinac, vice provost and the Andrew H. and Janet Dayton Neilly dean of the University of Rochester Libraries, began a one-year term as president of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) on Wednesday, October 4, 2017, during the Association’s Fall 2017 Meeting in Washington, DC. Mavrinac succeeds Mary Case, university librarian and dean of libraries at University of Illinois at Chicago, as ARL president. Case continues to serve as a member of both the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee as past president.

On October 3, the Association’s membership ratified the Board’s election of Susan Gibbons, university librarian and deputy provost for collections and scholarly communication at Yale University, as ARL vice president/president-elect.

Three new Board members were elected by the membership to serve three-year terms: John Culshaw, university librarian, University of Iowa; Vivian Lewis, university librarian, McMaster University; and Adriene Lim, Philip H. Knight dean of libraries, University of Oregon…”

According to KnowledgeSpeak “Wilma van Wezenbeek, director of the TU Delft Library, will succeed Robert van der Vooren as Open Access Project Leader at the VSNU with effect from January 1, 2018.

In recent years Van Wezenbeek has spearheaded national and international efforts to promote open access and open science. At the beginning of 2017, she was commissioned by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science to lead the project team that wrote the National Open Science Plan. She has been involved in the VSNU project since its launch as a liaison for the VSNU and the consortium of libraries (UKB). Wilma has also been a member of a number of negotiating teams. Before she stepped into the library world, Van Wezenbeek gained a great deal of experience in the publishing industry. She will lead the project alongside her current position at the TU Delft.

Robert van der Vooren, who was appointed Open Access Project Leader in 2014, will stay connected to the project in 2018 as an adviser. He will combine his advisory duties with work for Radboud University in the area of open science, among others. While working with the VSNU, Van der Vooren developed a unique Dutch approach to open access which has yielded impressive negotiation results with publishers…”

KnowledgeSpeak also notes that “academic publisher Oxford University Press has appointed Arthur Baker as new Managing Director of Oxford University Press Australia & New Zealand (OUP ANZ). Arthur will take up his new role from January 2018.

Arthur has extensive experience in the industry, having started his career in education more than 23 years ago. He previously ran the marketing, operations, and product technology functions across Pearson Australia, supporting vocational and Higher Education as well as schools. In his current role as Vice President of the Schools Division, Arthur is responsible for all dimensions of Pearson’s K-12 business in Australia…”

According to ARL News “the ARL Fellowship for Digital and Inclusive Excellence Selection Committee has chosen 11 undergraduates at ARL member institutions to participate in the inaugural Fellowship for Digital and Inclusive Excellence cohort.

The fellowship program seeks to introduce undergraduates from a variety of disciplines to digital stewardship and strives to promote diversification of the research library and archives workforce. Digital stewardship encompasses the care and management of digital information resources over their life cycle, including creation, collection, preservation, access, and use.

The ARL Fellowship for Digital and Inclusive Excellence is funded by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and by ARL member institutions…

The 2017–2018 fellows are:

Katiana M. Bagué, University of Florida
Jazmine Janae Ike-Lopez, Washington State University
Timmia Jana King, Howard University
Leah Lavigne, New York University
Stephanie Lopez, New York University
Jade Matias Bell, University of Southern California
Amy L. Padilla, University of New Mexico
Y Vy Truong, University of British Columbia
Anderson Tsai Wang, New York University
Amanda Wong, The University of Chicago
Marcelo Gabriel Yáñez, New York University

KnowledgeSpeak reports that “John Wiley and Sons, Inc. has announced that Ella Balagula has been named Wiley’s new Executive Vice President of Wiley’s Publishing segment. Prior to joining Wiley, Balagula was Senior Vice President and General Manager of Engineering Solutions at Elsevier, one of the world’s largest providers of scientific, medical, and technology information, where she was responsible for commercial go-to-market, product management, software development and content acquisition and production in the engineering and academic segments…”

Sign-up Today!

Join our mailing list to receive free daily updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest