ATG People in the News 11/30/16

by | Nov 30, 2016 | 0 comments

ALA News reports that “Scott Walter, university librarian, DePaul University, Chicago, has filed as a petition candidate for the 2018-19 presidency of the American Library Association.


Scott Walter

An ALA member for 20 years, Walter served on the ALA council 2013-16. He served on the ALA Publishing Committee 2014-16, as well as numerous committees within the Association for College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Between 2013-16, he served as editor-in-chief of the ACRL journal of record, College & Research Libraries.

Walter is also an active member of OCLC, the Online Computer Library Center where he has held various positions, including as a current Americas Regional Council Delegate to Global Council. He is a 2016 participant in the UCLA Graduate School of Education and Information Studies Senior Fellow Program, and received the ACRL Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award in 2012.

Walter recently provided leadership for the design and launch of Chicago Collections, a unique consortium of academic libraries, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and others dedicated to the preservation, discovery, and use of materials and expertise related to the City of Chicago. As an elected representative to a Chicago Local School Council, he collaborates with K-12 librarians, teachers, principals, and parents to advocate for school libraries and librarians in Chicago public schools.

Walter has been engaged in professional education programs for librarians for more than a decade, and has served as an adjunct member of the faculty in LIS programs at the University of Illinois, San Jose State University, and Dominican University. He is a frequent speaker and published author in areas such as information literacy instruction, library assessment, and the future of library services…”

greenspan-bioAccording to GalleyCat “Sebastian Mallaby won the 2016 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year for The Man Who Knew. Mallaby earned a £30,000 (about $37,326.60) prize, and the other shortlisted authors received £10,000 (about $12,443.10).

According to the press release, “the biography of one of the titans of recent financial history brilliantly shows the subtlety and complexity of Alan Greenspan’s legacy. The award recognises the book that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.”

Past award winners include Martin Ford (2015), Thomas Piketty (2014), and Brad Stone (2013). We’ve posted the entire 2016 short list below.

Shortlist for the 2016 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year

  • The Man Who Knew: The Life and Times of Alan Greenspan by Sebastian Mallaby (Penguin Press)
  • Makers and Takers: The Rise of Finance and The Fall of American Business by Rana Foroohar (Crown Business)
  • What Works: Gender Equality By Design by Iris Bohnet (Belknap Press)
  • Alibaba: The House That Jack Ma Built by Duncan Clark (Ecco)
  • The 100-Year Life: Living and Working in an Age of Longevity by Lynda Gratton and Andrew Scott (Bloomsbury)

Sign-up Today!

Join our mailing list to receive free daily updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!