ALANews reports that “Irene M. H. Herold, university librarian at the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa, has been elected ACRL vice-president/president-elect. She will become president-elect following the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco and assume the presidency in July 2016 for a one-year term.

Irene Herold

Irene Herold

Beth McNeil, associate dean of the Purdue University Libraries, and Lori J. Ostapowicz-Critz, head of the faculty engagement department at the Georgia Institute of Technology, have been elected to the ACRL Board of Directors as director-at-large…

Herold’s activities in ACRL include serving as a member of the ACRL Board of Directors (2011-2015), Communities of Practice Implementation Task Force (2011-2013), Research and Scholarly Environment Committee (2013-2015), Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award Committee (2009 and 2011), Law and Political Science Section program and award committees (2003-2007, 2005-2007 & 2010-2011), and College Libraries Section’s Library Directors’ Discussion Group (co-convener, 2004-2007). Herold additionally served the College Libraries Section as vice-chair/ chair/ past-chair (2007-2011)…

Cynthia Crooker

Cynthia Crooker

Cynthia Crooker has been named science and technology editor for Choice, effective immediately.  The premier source of reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to scholars and students in higher education, Choice is a publishing unit of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association.

Crooker is an experienced editor with a Master’s degree in English (University of Delaware); she also completed her coursework for a PhD in English at Brown University and holds a second Master’s degree in library science (Simmons College).  A librarian at Yale University for twenty-three years, she spent fifteen of those years at the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library where she handled collection development and served on the committee which chose digital resources for the library.  More recently, Crooker worked with STM publishers on ebook discovery issues for the medical vendor, Doody Enterprises. She first worked at Choice on various ebook projects from 2011-2014 as a contract worker.

“I’m thrilled to be back working at Choice. This position combines all of my favorite interests: serving academic libraries and their users, matching books and people (in this case, reviewers), and editing. It’s the ideal job,” she said.

She steps into the role vacated by Georgia Scura, who retired on April 16.  Crooker will report to Tom Radko, editorial director of Choice.

“Cynthia has worked with Choice as a freelancer for several years, during which time she was known for her attention to detail and stellar work ethic.  We couldn’t be happier that she is now joining us as a full-time employee bringing to our publishing unit her considerable background as editor, medical librarian, and educator,” said Tom Radko.  “As Choice’s new science and technology editor, Cynthia is a fine addition to our editorial team.”

According to KnowledgeSpeak “on May 4, 2015, the U.S. Senate confirmed Willie E. May as the second Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology and the 15th director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

May has been serving as acting director since June 2014. He has worked at NIST since 1971, leading research activities in chemical and biological measurement science activities prior to serving as associate director for laboratory programs and principal deputy to the NIST director.

In addition to his responsibilities at NIST, May also serves as the vice president of the International Committee on Weights and Measures (CIPM) and president of the CIPM’s Consultative Committee on Metrology in Chemistry and Biology. Before joining NIST (then the National Bureau of Standards), May worked as a senior analyst at the Oak Ridge Gaseous Diffusion Plant. At NIST, his research has focused on trace organic analytical measurement science, the physical and chemical properties of organic compounds and liquid chromatography, which is used to identify the components in a mixture.

Among many other awards and honors, May was elected a Fellow of the American Chemical Society in 2011. He has been recognized with the Department of Commerce’s Bronze (1981), Silver (1985) and Gold (1992) medals. The National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) has recognized him with both the Percy Julian Award for outstanding research in organic analytical chemistry and the Henry Hill Award for exemplary work and leadership in the field of chemistry. May received the 2007 Alumnus of the Year Award from the College of Chemical and Life Sciences at the University of Maryland, and in 2010 he was among the first class of inductees into the Knoxville College Alumni Hall of Fame. He was the keynote speaker for the 2002 winter commencement ceremonies for the University of Maryland’s College of Life Sciences, and for Wake Forest University’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences commencement exercises in 2012.”

KnowledgeSpeak also reports that “Publisher John Wiley & Sons, Inc., has announced Glen Wright, a research fellow at the Institute for Sustainable Development and International Relations (IDDRI) in Paris, as the first guest editor of Wiley’s Exchanges blog. For one week, starting May 11, 2015, he will take over the blog’s reins to explore ‘The PhD Path Less Travelled.’

Wright, who is also a PhD candidate at the Australian National University and the editor of Academia Obscura, was selected from a pool of entrants in the first Early Career Researcher (ECR) Takeover Week contest held by Wiley Advisors—Wiley’s free membership program designed to connect with and learn from early career researchers. The Advisor program gives new researchers the opportunity to consult on scholarly publishing topics, while Exchanges blog provides the platform to share ideas and information among all those involved in the creation of academic research.

As guest editor, Wright will lead a discussion on the varied journeys experienced in achieving a PhD, as well as the opportunities after completion.”

According to ALANews  “United for Libraries has awarded the 2015 United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grants to Heather Murphy, associate director of advancement for publications and public affairs for the library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Molly Hart, student engagement assistant at the Columbia College Library in Chicago.

Murphy and Hart will each receive $850 plus full conference registration to attend the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco. A formal presentation to the grant winners will be made at the conference.

Murphy holds a bachelor’s degree in advertising from Illinois and has more than 18 years of marketing and communications experience within corporate, nonprofit and higher education institutions. Murphy has been with the Office of Advancement at the University Library for more than six years. She is responsible for providing the overall vision and direction of communications and marketing activities to strengthen the library’s advancement efforts…

Hart works in student engagement at the Columbia College Library. Having received her BA in women’s studies from Mills College, she focuses on student advocacy, cultivating a creative environment and expanding Columbia’s Friends of the Library program…”