Rhonda Herman New McFarland President

RhondaHerman2014McFarland founder Robert Franklin announced that he has passed the job and title of President to Executive Vice President Rhonda HermanFranklin will assume the new title of Founder and Editor-in-Chief.

Founded in 1979, McFarland is a leading independent publisher of academic and nonfiction books.  Meeting high library standards has always been a major focus, and numerous McFarland books have received awards from the library-oriented (Choice Outstanding Academic Title and ALA Outstanding Reference Work) to the specialized (Hugo, Edgar, Stoker, USCF Chess Book of the Year).  Located in the beautiful mountain town of Jefferson, North Carolina, the publisher offers 5100 books in print, offers nearly 3000 ebooks through online booksellers, operates its own printing facility, employs 55 people and is known worldwide.

Rhonda Herman joined the company in 1982 as Business Manager.  She was promoted to Vice President in 1991 and to Executive Vice President in 2004.  While she has worked at various times in her McFarland career in every corner of the operations, she spearheaded the initiative to establish an in-house printing facility and has focused on designing information systems in the last decade.  She planned and implemented their ebook strategy during the last five years. Most recently she re-vamped technology relating to cover design and book production (400 a year). Ms. Herman will contribute a chapter to the upcoming Ebooks in Academic Libraries: Stepping Up to the Challenge, edited by Robert S. Freeman, Suzanne M. Ward and Judith M. Nixon, representing the perspective of a commercial publisher. This title is to be published in 2015 by Purdue University Press which has a long-time collaboration with the Charleston ConferenceMs. Herman graduated magna cum laude from Appalachian State University’s College of Business in 1977 and is also active with groups promoting regional economic development. A graduate of Yale University, Robert (“Robbie”) Franklin was raised by two librarians and served on the council of the American Library Association during the years 1986–2000.