Deadline for Cunha-Swartzburg Award for collaborative preservation is December 1st

by | Nov 8, 2010 | 0 comments

We are pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for the 2011 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) LBI George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award.

Deadline for nominations is December 1.

The Cunha-Swartzburg Award honors the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation. This $1250 award, sponsored by the Library Binding Institute, acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals.

The award committee will consider a single project emphasizing collaboration or partnership, collaboration extending the preservation vision beyond the circle of preservation specialists, or the cumulative achievement of an individual or group who has served as a mentor or advocate of collaborative preservation. Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in the ALA organization is not required.

Nomination packets should include:

  • name of the person or group being nominated; address, phone number and email address of nominee and nominating party
  • formal statement of nomination, with rationale for the nomination
  • resume, vita, or extensive narrative career outline upon which the award jury can base its determination
  • letters of support or endorsement.

Send nomination packets (via email or snail mail) to: Kara McClurken, Chair, Cunha-Swartzburg Committee Alderman Library Preservation – Rm 201 P.O. Box 400150 Charlottesville, VA 22904-4150

For more information on the award and recent recipients, please see

Sign-up Today!

Join our mailing list to receive free daily updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest