SPARC honors Optical Society of America as a pioneer

by | Jan 21, 2010 | 0 comments

With the launch of Optics Express in 1997, the Optical Society of America (OSA) created an open-access journal that has stood the test of time to become a both a scientific and financial success. The journal, now entering its second decade of publication, is consistently ranked among the top titles in its field. And, it has proved to be such a successful financial venture that the Society is this year rolling out three more publications that follow the same open-access business model.

For being a shining example of community-driven creativity and innovation in scholarly communications, the Optical Society of America has been named the first SPARC Innovator of 2010. SPARC recognizes the team at OSA that brought Optics Express into existence and nurtured its growth and sustainability:

  • Dr. Joseph Eberly, founding editor, Carnegie Professor of Physics and Professor of Optics at the University of Rochester and director of the Rochester Theory Center.
  • Dr. Michael Duncan, second editor-in-chief, research physicist at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory in Bethesda, Maryland.
  • Dr. Martijn de Sterke, current editor-in-chief, professor in physics at the University of Sydney, Australia.
  • Dr. John Childs, senior director of publications at OSA in Washington, D.C.

Optics Express publishes original, peer-reviewed articles in all fields of optical science and technology twice a month — within an average of 47 days after article acceptance. The quick turnaround, along with creative ways to highlight content — such as electronic cover images for every issue and Focus issues — have made Optics Express a sought-after publishing destination for authors and a top journal in the field. OSA is introducing three new journals under the Optics Express brand and publishing model over the next year: Biomedical Optic Express, Optical Material Express and Energy Express.

The January 2010 SPARC Innovator Profile is online at  The SPARC Innovator program recognizes advances in scholarly communication propelled by an individual, institution, or group. Typically, these advances exemplify SPARC principles by challenging the status quo in scholarly communication for the benefit of researchers, libraries, universities, and the public. SPARC Innovators are featured on the SPARC Web site semi-annually and have included Mike Rossner of the Rockefeller University Press; R. Preston McAfee of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena; Harvard University FAS; student leaders; Ted and Carl Bergstrom; Melissa Hagemann of the Open Society Institute; the University of California; and Herbert Van de Sompel of the Los Alamos National Laboratory. SPARC Innovators are selected by the SPARC staff in consultation with the SPARC Steering Committee.

Individuals can nominate their colleagues as potential SPARC Innovators at

For more information, see the SPARC Web site at

Sign-up Today!

Join our mailing list to receive free daily updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest