The Special Libraries Association (SLA) announced the results of its Board of Directors election today. When the polls closed on October 1, 2802 SLA members had cast their ballots and participated in the election. The results have been finalized and the winners are as follows:

2010 SLA President- Elect (three-year term on board)

Cindy Romaine
Romainiacs Intelligence Services
Aloha, Oregon

As the principal of Romainiacs Intelligence Research, Cindy Romaine provides information consulting services and in-depth research solutions to corporate clients. Prior to her current role, she worked for 16 years at Nike, Inc., as the director of the Design Library and as corporate archivist. Romaine completed a three-year term as a director on the SLA Board in December 2008. She was also a member of the SLA Branding Task Force, served as chair of the Public Relations Advisory Council, and was a member of the Professional Values Task Force. She has authored articles for /Information Outlook/ magazine on SLA’s strategic alignment, the branding of the information profession, and professional competencies. She is a long-time member and contributor to the Oregon Chapter of SLA, and in 2009 is serving her second term as president, having previously served from 1995-1996. At the chapter level, Romaine served on the Professional Development, Consultation, and Public Relations Committees. She is a member of SLA’s Leadership Management Division and the Museum, Arts and Humanities Division.

The open positions for the 2010 SLA Board of Directors included chapter and division cabinet chairs-elect as well as treasurer. The members elected to serve in these positions are as follows:

2010 Treasurer (three-year term on board):
Dan Trefethen, Boeing, Seattle, Washington

2010 Division Cabinet Chair-Elect (three-year term on board):
Mary Ellen Bates, Bates Information Services, Inc., Niwot, Colorado

2010 Chapter Cabinet Chair-Elect (three-year term on board):
Liz Blankson-Hemans, Dialog, London

Romaine and the other newly-elected board members will begin their terms on the SLA Board of Directors on January 1, 2010, and participate in their first board meeting during the association’s Annual Leadership Summit later that month in St. Louis.

To learn more about the elected board members please visit here: