ATG Conferences, Meetings, & Webinars 11/13/16

Professional Growth and Development Opportunities

  • ALA;
  • ACRL (2 reminders);
  • Office for Information Technology Policy (OITP)
  • ARL
  • Conference on Open Access Scholarly Publishing (COASP)

ALA exhibitfloor

According to American Libraries “Midwinter offers numerous opportunities to connect and engage with colleagues. You’ll witness the transformative power of libraries, discuss trends and innovations, see policy and advocacy take shape, and discover ways to make your institution more diverse and inclusive.

ACRL Insider notes that librarians can “learn about progress on ACRL’s forthcoming action-oriented research agenda on library contributions to student learning and success. Sign up for the free ACRL Presents webcast, “Update on ACRL’s Action-Oriented Research Agenda,” on Tuesday, November 15, 2016, from 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Central time (9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. Pacific | 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Mountain | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Central  | 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. Eastern.  Convert additional time zones online.)

A team from OCLC Research – which ACRL selected to design, develop, and deliver the new action-oriented agenda – has been working since August and seeks your input and feedback. An initial draft of the agenda (PDF), along with additional information, is available on the project webpage.

Submit your free registration online by noon Central on Monday, November 14. Login details will be sent via email the afternoon of November 14.  The webcast will be recorded and made available shortly after the live event.

ACRL Insider also reminds readers that “ACRL continues underwriting the cost to host the workshop “Scholarly Communication: From Understanding to Engagement” at up to five locations in 2017. The program continues its cost-sharing model as ACRL is committed to underwriting the bulk of the expense for delivering the road show for up to five locations, and the cost for successful host institutions is $2,000. Apply by Thursday, November 17, 2016, at 5 p.m. Central.

In addition to the competitive subsidized version, you may bring this one-day workshop, at full cost, to your campus, chapter, or consortia year round…


According to District Dispatch “an archived copy of the CopyTalk webinar “Captured: Influence, bias and control at the U.S.copyright-40632_1280 Copyright Office” is now available. Originally webcast on November 3rd by the Office for Information Technology Policy’s Copyright Education Subcommittee, our presenter was Meredith Rose, staff attorney at Public Knowledge (PK), a DC public interest organization focusing on telecommunications, copyright and Internet law policy. Meredith talked about PK’s report on the U.S. Copyright Office’s partiality toward the content industry by advocating for stronger copyright and increased enforcement as well as its entry into non-copyright policy arenas, such as telecommunications, in order to argue on behalf of rights holders.

Plan ahead! One-hour, free CopyTalk webinars occur on the first Thursday of every month at 11am Pacific/2 pm Eastern Time.

On December 1st, Deg Farrelly, media librarian at Arizona State University, will discuss an online database of due diligence searches made to identify rights holders of video titles from three university media collections. The project is ongoing and invites media librarians to crowd source by adding their unique titles and copyright searches to the database.


Association of Research Libraries (ARL) member representatives, ARL leadership fellows, staff, and guests gathered in Washington, DC, on September 27–28, 2016, for the 169th Association Meeting, convened by then ARL president Larry Alford, chief librarian at University of Toronto.

Program sessions included “Trends in ARL Statistical Data,” “Open Access, Shared Values, Different Paths,” and “Sci-Hub: Piracy or Public Good?” The meeting also featured the second ARL “hunchery,” in which six speakers each gave a five-minute description of a new idea, line of inquiry, project, or experiment.

All available presentation slides are linked from the speakers’ names or session titles in the summary of the program sessions…”


According to KnowledgeSpeak “in September this year, over 160 delegates working in scholarly publishing, librarianship, academia, government, startups, scholarly societies, consultancies and for non-profits descended on Arlington, Virginia, for the 8th Conference on Open Access Scholarly Publishing (COASP). From the evening of September 20 through to the afternoon of September 22, delegates listened to presentations on a wide variety of issues in open access scholarly publishing, networked, and discussed the present and future state of open access…”

Pin It

Comments are closed.