ATG People in the News 3/3/16


James Mullins

The EXPONENT reports that “James Mullins, who came to Purdue in 2004, will officially be honored in June during the annual conference of the American Library Association in Orlando, Florida. The Atkinson Award was named for one of the pioneers of library automation, Hugh C. Atkinson, who served as dean of libraries at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign until his death in 1986. Each year, this award honors an academic librarian who has worked in the areas of library automation or library management and embodies the same commitment toward the improvement of library services, development or research that Atkinson did.

During his 12 years at Purdue, Mullins has spearheaded a number of initiatives to promote and improve Purdue Libraries. In 2009, he established the W. Wayne Booker Endowed Chair in Information Literacy, a position that has since been held by Sharon Weiner. He was also vital in the creation of the Wilmeth Active Learning Center, which is under construction and will be ready to open by the start of the fall 2017 semester…

In an American Library Association press release, Colby Riggs, the committee chair for the award, characterized Mullins as a “risk-taking, creative and visionary leader in the academic and research library profession.” It’s no surprise, therefore, that Mullins’ vision for Purdue’s future doesn’t stop with the Active Learning Center. He explained that Purdue Libraries are working on a new strategic plan that will take them through 2019…”

According to Library Technology Guides “after 25+ years at the helm, building her company to many multiples of its original size and earning both local and national awards for leadership, customer service and technological excellence, Susan Wolper of Wolper Information Services is stepping aside.

Under Sue’s leadership, Wolper earned a place on the EContent 100 list of “companies that matter most in the digital content industry” three times and earned multiple awards as “Most Customer-Friendly Company of the Year” from Best in Biz. Sue personally was honored for her diversity leadership and served the industry as a board and executive member of the international Association of Subscription Agents and Intermediaries…”


Annie Peterson

ALA News reports that ” The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) named Annie Peterson, Preservation Services Librarian at LYRASIS, the winner of the 2016 Esther J. Piercy Award. The award will be presented on Saturday, June 25 at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the 2016 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference and Exhibition in Orlando, FL.

Peterson has made significant contributions to technical services activities, most notably through her service to the profession and in the application of preservation theory to real-world practice…”

The Acquisitions Section of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) has selected Jim Mouw, associate university librarian for collection services at the University of Chicago, to receive the 2016 HARRASSOWITZ Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award. The award will be presented on June 25 at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the 2016 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference and Exhibition in Orlando.

Pin It

Comments are closed.