More ATG People in the News 1/15/16

Susan K. Nutter, vice provost and director of libraries at North Carolina State University (NCSU), is the 2016 ACRL Academic/ Research Librarian of the Year. The award, sponsored by YBP Library Services, recognizes an outstanding member of the library profession who has made a significant national or international contribution to academic/research librarianship and library development.
Nutter will receive a $5,000 award during the ACRL President’s Program at 10:30 am on Saturday, June 26, 2016, at the 2016 ALA Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida
Over the course of her nearly thirty-year tenure at NCSU, Nutter has been a visionary, outwardly-focused leader committed to demonstrating and heightening the value of the library in higher education. She raised the profile of the library on her campus, integrating innovative library services into the fabric of the university’s academic and research agendas, and elevating the reputation of the NCSU Libraries locally, regionally, and nationally. Under her leadership, the NCSU Libraries received the first ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award in the university library category in 2000.
Not one to rest on her laurels, Nutter was the driving force behind the planning, development, and construction of NCSU’s renowned James B. Hunt, Jr. Library. Opened in January 2013, the Hunt Library is NCSU’s second main library, as well as the intellectual and social center of Centennial Campus. Widely praised for its innovative services, technologies, and use of space, the Hunt Library reflects Nutter’s longstanding belief that it is the priorities and practices of the university that must shape the spaces and offerings of the library. Due to her efforts, the Hunt Library was awarded the Stanford Prize for Innovation in Research Libraries in 2014 and serves a model for other institutions looking to develop innovative learning and research spaces…
In addition to her visionary leadership in the philosophy and use of libraries and library space, Nutter is also known for her unending focus on developing others in the profession. She is widely praised for her keen eye for talent, commitment to staff development, openness to ideas and innovation, and ability to inspire others to enjoy their efforts while leading them to great accomplishments. Nutter’s ability to find and develop talented library professionals, many of whom have gone on to make lasting contributions in their own right, is a model worth exemplifying.

An active member of ALA and ACRL, Nutter also served as president of the Association of Research Libraries (1993); member (1987-1992) and chair (1990-1991) of the SOLINET Board of Directors; member (1995-1998) and secretary (1996-1997) of the Center for Research Libraries Board of Directors; and member of the Digital Library Federation Steering Committee (1998- present). She is also a member of the Triangle Research Libraries Network Governing Board, where she has served several terms as chair.

Nutter’s wide array of personal awards includes receiving the Simmons College Graduate School of Library and Information Science Alumni Achievement Award (1995), the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (1999), and being named Library Journal‘s Librarian of the Year in 2005. The NCSU Student Government honored her with its first Jenny Chang Outstanding Student Service Award in 2008. Under her leadership, the NCSU Libraries also received the John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award in 1990 and 2014…”

Pin It

Comments are closed.