ATG People in the News 1/28/16

people growth pixabay

According to ALA NewsDr. R. David Lankes, professor and Dean’s Scholar for New Librarianship at Syracuse University’s School of Information Studies and 2016-2017 Follett Chair in Library and Information Sciences at Dominican University Graduate School of Library and Information Science, Chicago, has been selected to receive the 2016 American Library Association Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship.   This prestigious honor is given annually to an individual for a “significant contribution to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching, and/or writing…

Lankes holds a Ph.D. from Syracuse University, School of Information Studies, and an MS in Telecommunications, also from Syracuse University.  In addition to being a faculty member at Syracuse University, Dr. Lankes has also served as a visiting fellow at the National Library of Canada, an adjunct instructor for the OCLC Institute, a visiting scholar at Harvard University’s School of Education, and was the first OITP Fellow at the ALA’s Office of Information Technology Policy.   Dr. Lankes’ professional successes, publications, grants and service achievements all support his receiving this award…”

BU Today notes that “for the first time in more than three decades, BU’s Fineman and Pappas Law Libraries (Boston University) have a new director. Ronald Wheeler joined the School of Law January 1, replacing Marlene Alderman, who retired after 32 years.

Wheeler, who is also an associate professor of law and legal research, comes from Suffolk University Law School, where he was director of the Moakley Law Library and an associate professor of legal research. He is also vice president and president-elect of the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), and will become president in July…”

Also according to ALA NewsHeather Collins, Sara Kearns and Joelle Pitts have been selected to receive the 2016 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section (IS) Innovation award for their work on the New Literacies Alliance (NLA) project, an online platform that addresses the “new” literacies required for academic success and lifelong learning and that allows students to master skills at their own pace. Collins is the assistant director of research and learning at the University of Kansas Medical Center Dykes Library, Kearns is the head of undergraduate/community services at Kansas State University’s Hale Library and Pitts is instructional design librarian at Kansas State University’s Hale Library.

The annual award recognizes a project that demonstrates creative, innovative or unique approaches to information literacy instruction or programming. The plaque and $3,000 award, donated by EBSCO, will be presented to the group during the 2016 ALA Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida…”

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library by Lauren Manning [CC 2.0 Generic] via Flickr

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library by Lauren Manning [CC 2.0 Generic] via Flickr

The Yale News report that “while the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library is currently undergoing extensive renovations, its leadership remains unchanged.

Last Wednesday, Yale University President Peter Salovey announced the reappointment of Edwin Schroeder as director of the Beinecke and associate University librarian. Schroeder, who is currently overseeing a multimillion-dollar renovation of the Beinecke, was first selected as the library’s director in 2010 following the death of Frank Turner GRD ’71, previous University librarian and Beinecke director. Since then, Schroeder has overseen the establishment of the Windham-Campbell Literature Prizes and more than doubled the amount of classes held in the library. His colleagues emphasized his spirit of collaboration as one of his greatest strengths. His second term will last five years, until July 2021…”

According to KnowledgeSpeakXuemao Wang, dean and university librarian, has been selected to serve on the steering committee of the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC).

SPARC is a global coalition of 200-plus academic and research libraries that works to enable open sharing of research output and educational materials in order to ‘democratize access to knowledge, accelerate discovery and increase the return on investment in research and education.’ To achieve this mission, SPARC collaborates with authors, publishers, libraries, students, policymakers and the public to build opportunities and promote changes to make open access the default for research and education.

The SPARC Steering Committee provides programmatic decision-making support for the executive director. Committee members are expected to demonstrate leadership and support action to drive constructive change in scholarly communication. Dean Wang will serve on the Steering Committee from January 2016 through December 2018. He joins colleagues from such institutions as the University of Texas at Austin, the University of Kansas, Purdue University and the University of California, Los Angeles among others…”

Pin It

Comments are closed.