ATG Conferences, Meeting & Webinars 11/29/15

Professional Growth & Development Opportunities:

  • ALCTS;
  • Knowledge Unlatched;
  • ACRL;

People attending a Congress

  • ALCTS Webinars – Upcoming Sessions

Event Date


Presented By

December 2

Tactics for Time Management and Organizational Skills

Marie L. Radford

December 8

RDA Serials Cataloging Update

Steve Shadle

April 20

Doing Oral History

Barbara Truesdell

  • ALCTS eForums – Upcoming Discussions




December 9

Discovery Layers vs. the Traditional Catalog

Erika Johnson and Kristin Martin

Wednesday 2 December at 10am EST / 3pm UK / 4pm EU.

After a … pilot project last year in which 28 scholarly ebooks were funded by libraries all over the globe in order to make them openly accessible, Knowledge Unlatched (KU) returns with a Round 2 collection of 78 ebook titles. Come hear the Deputy Director of Knowledge Unlatched, Dr. Lucy Montgomery of Curtin University in Australia, share information about the creation of the Round 2 collection and how KU’s innovative open access model is attracting publishers and libraries alike.

The presentation will last 30 mins followed by a Q&A session.

Date: Tuesday, 12/1/2015

2:00 PM-3:00 PM (Eastern); 1:00 PM-2:00 PM (Central); 12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Mountain); & 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Pacific)

Librarians put many hours into creating research guides, and usage studies have shown that students use them very little. Learn some effective techniques of instructional design and web usability that any librarian can apply to make online guides better and more useful to your students, whether you’re using LibGuides or a home-brew system…


Jason Puckett is Librarian for Communication and Virtual Services and Assistant Professor at Georgia State University Library in Atlanta, Georgia. He was named a Library Journal Mover & Shaker in 2010, in part for his work with technology in libraries. Puckett has a BA in English from Georgia State University and an MLIS from Florida State University, and is the author of the ACRL Publication Modern Pathfinders: Creating Better Research Guides…”

Friday, December 4, 2015 is the deadline to apply to Immersion ’16 (Teacher and Program tracks).  The ACRL Immersion Program provides instruction librarians the opportunity to work intensively for several days on all aspects of information literacy. Whether your institution is just beginning to think about implementing an information literacy component or whether you have a program well under way, the Immersion Program will provide you with the intellectual tools and practical techniques to build or enhance your institution’s instruction program.

Pin It

Leave a Reply