More ATG Conferences, Meetings and Webinars 4/28/15

Professional Growth and Development Opportunities presented by:

  • NISO;
  • C&RL;
  • Open Repositories
  • ALCTS

boardroom-1110515-m

Date: May 13, 2015
Time: 1:00 – 2:30 p.m. Eastern time

ABOUT THE WEBINAR
The digitization of resources can provide expanded access to information as well as a preservation mechanism for now-fragile materials. Preserving the digital copy of the resource is an issue now being addressed, but what about the software used to create digital files? How can software on media which can no longer be read — or no longer be read easily — be preserved? If that software can’t be accessed, what happens to the material created by, and only read by, that software?…

Topics and speakers are:
• Software artifacts: Migration and Emulation – Michael Lesk, Professor of Library and Information Science, Rutgers University

• Emulation in practice: Emulation as a Service at Yale University Library: Lessons learnt and plans for the future – Euan Cochrane, Digital Preservation Manager, Yale University Library


Tuesday, May 5th, 2015: 11am Pacific | 12pm Mountain | 1pm Central | 2pm Eastern (60 minutes)

REGISTER in advance or VIEW live

Forum Abstract:
Interest in supporting undergraduate research programs continues to grow within academic librarianship. Join us for an author panel discussion of the C&RL preprint article “A Survey of Campus Coordinators of Undergraduate Research Programs.” The authors will share the findings of their study, which included two parts: a survey of libraries which gauged current support for undergraduate research programs and an investigation of how undergraduate research program coordinators perceive and value library support for undergraduate research. The panelists will discuss the study’s findings on which elements of libraries and library services the program coordinators value, and share ideas on how libraries can improve and develop services for undergraduate researchers and their faculty mentors…

Moderator:

Allegra Swift: Allegra is the Scholarly Communication Team Leader and Science Technology and Society Librarian at Claremont Colleges Library.

Panelists:
Merinda Kaye Hensley: Merinda is the Instructional Services Librarian and Scholarly Commons Co-Coordinator at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Sarah L. Shreeves: Sarah is the Associate Dean for Digital Strategies at the University of Miami.

Stephanie Davis-Kahl: Stephanie is the Scholarly Communications Librarian at Illinois Wesleyan University.


June 8-11, 2015 in Indianapolis, Indiana – at the Hyatt Regency

We are pleased to announce that information on accepted paper, panel and 24×7 sessions at Open Repositories 2015 is now available on the site.

The conference received an unprecedented number of proposals this year, with 240 proposals submitted across the conference and interest group tracks. This has also been the most selective Open Repositories, and only 38% of conference paper and panels were accepted in the main track. We have accepted 6 panels, 21 24×7’s (including Rants and Raves), 37 papers and 60 posters which will all give an exciting snapshot of work in the open repositories community…

Online registration for OR2015 is currently open, and participants can save $50 by registering by May 8. Special negotiated room rates at the conference hotel are available until May 16…


Dates: Wednesday, July 15 and Thursday, July 16, 2015

…This e-forum will give participants – and lurkers on the list –opportunities to ask questions and share experiences to ease the transition from a career in library services to the condition of ‘retirement.’

There is a lot of talk about the “graying” of the profession but less about the kinds of things those who are ‘graying’ should consider. We hope that sharing our experiences in navigating our way out of the work world and into the world of retirement will stimulate a lively discussion.

Hosts:

  • Pamela Bluh retired from the Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland at the end of July 2014.  She ‘resisted’ retirement for quite some time, but now finds it hard to understand how she had time to work.
  • Jane Edmister Penner has worked at the University of Virginia for 27 years, most recently as Director of Content Management Services (i.e., Technical Services) and previously as Head of the Music Library…

Times: 
Pacific: 7 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Mountain: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Central: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Eastern: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

 

Pin It

Comments are closed.