Conferences, Meetings and Webinars 5/8/13

Professional Growth and Development Opportunities from ALCTS; ACRL; and NISO

 Shared Collection Development: Collaborative Models for Digital Collections

An ALCTS Virtual Preconference

This two-day virtual preconference provides an overview of collection development for shared electronic resource collections.

The first session (90 minutes) describes a consortium eBook demand-driven acquisitions project from the perspective of a library vendor and the consortium. The second session (one hour) addresses special considerations related to developing and licensing shared electronic resource collections.  (There are no prerequisites for attendance.)

Presenters; Barbara Kawecki; Michael Levine-Clark; Athena Hoeppner

Dates & Times

This virtual preconference is comprised of two one-hour sessions over two days, Monday, June 10–Tuesday, June 11.

Date Title Presenter
Monday, June 10 Demand-Driven Acquisitions for a Shared eBook Collection: The Colorado Alliance Experience Barbara Kawecik and Michael Levine-Clark
Tuesday, June 11 eResource Sharing: Getting Buy With a Little Help from Your Friends Athena Hoeppner

Monday’s session will be 90 minutes, beginning at noon Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern.

Tuesday’s session will be an hour, beginning at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, 2pm Eastern.

Fees:

Participant Each ($) Both Sessions ($)
ALCTS Member (individual) 39 62
Non-member (individual) 49 80
International (individual) 39 62
Group
Applies to group of people that will watch the webinar together from one access point. Group rate is the same for members and nonmembers.
99 168
Current ALA Student Members and LIS Faculty Free

All webinars are recorded and the one-time fee includes unlimited access to the webinar recording. All registered attendees will receive the link to the recorded session so if you are unable to attend the webinar at the time it is presented, you will have the opportunity to listen to the recording at your convenience

To register, complete the online registration form or or register by mail for the session you would like to attend.

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org.

For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or jreese@ala.org.

 

Live Webcast /90 minutes  / May 22, 2013
11 a.m. Pacific | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 p.m. Eastern

Description: Technology is enabling Higher Education to change more in the next ten years than it has in the past hundred. Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) are potentially one such technological innovation and have generated a lot of press in the past year. This live, interactive webcast will focus on the role of the librarian in these online courses. First, we will examine what librarians are currently doing to provide support for these institutional course offerings. Next, we will discuss possible future roles that librarians can play as MOOCs move from the margins to the mainstream.

Learning Outcomes:

  • Learn about current library efforts to support MOOCs (e.g. copyright and licensing).
  • Learn about new strategic challenges that MOOCs present for libraries (e.g. scale and remote services for diverse course demographics).
  • Learn about new strategic opportunities that MOOCs present for libraries (e.g. information literacy instruction and Open Educational Resources (OERs).

Presenter: John D. Shank, Instructional Design Librarian, Associate Director of the Center for Learning and Teaching (CLT), Instructor in Communication Arts & Sciences, Penn State Berks and Co-founder of The Blended Librarian.

Registration fees: ACRL member: $50; ALA member: $75; Nonmember: $90; Student: $40; and Group*: $295

 Semantic Mashups Across Large, Heterogeneous Institutions: Experiences from the VIVO Service

May 22, 2013: 1:00 – 2:30 p.m. (Eastern Time)

About the Webinar

VIVO is a semantic web application focused on discovering researchers and research publications in the life sciences. The service, which uses open-source software originally developed and implemented at Cornell University, operates by harvesting data about researcher interests, activities, and accomplishments from academic, administrative, professional, and funding sources. Using a built-in, editable ontology for describing things such as People, Courses, and Publications, data is transformed into a Semantic-Web-compliant form. VIVO provides automated and self-updating processes for improving data quality and authenticity. Starting with a classic Google-style search box, VIVO users can browse search results structured around people, research interests, courses, publications, and the like — data that can be exposed for re-use by other systems in a machine-readable format…

Speaker

John Fereira, a senior programmer/analyst and technology strategist at Cornell University, is a contributing member of the VIVO project team. He also consults on issues related to information technology in higher education with an emphasis on open-source, modular, distributed software systems and is currently working on systems based on VIVO software for international Agricultural Information systems communities.

Registration

If paying by credit card, register online.

If paying by check, use this PDF form.

Registration closes on May 22, 2013 at 12:00 pm Eastern.

Pin It

Comments are closed.