Conferences and Meetings 4/6/12

Here are a couple of events focused on video streaming. One is from Alexander Street Press / Library Journal and the other from ALCTS:

 

Increasing Faculty Usage of Streaming Video – A Webcast

Sponsored by  Alexander Street Press and Library Journal this webcast “will show use cases of how streaming video can be used, including:

  • Examples of how video can improve research
  • Examples of how video has been combined to improve learning for specific courses
  • Examples of how to annotate video and publish it”

Librarians and faculty will learn how to get the most out of their video resources; how video can be promoted in the library; which departments can benefit the most as well as a technical understanding of what cutting edge technology makes possible today.”  Presenters included:

Stephen Rhind-Tutt the president and founder of Alexander Street Press…  He is a frequent speaker at conferences including The Charleston Conference, the American Association of University Presses, the Society of Scholarly Publishers, The Digital Library Federation, CLIR and others.

Pete Ciuffetti, vice president of product development, has been a technologist in the library information industry for over 25 years.

Kim Stanton, head of the media library at the University of North Texas and has been the program director for the Thin Line Film Festival since 2008.

EVENT TIME: Thursday, April 26, 2012, 1:00-2:00 PM EST/10:00 – 11:00 AM PST

Register now!

 

You Ought to be in Pictures: Bringing Streaming Video to your Library

This hour-long session covers:

  • best practices for selection and use of streaming media;
  • licensing; purchasing and cataloging streaming media;
  • storing and serving content in a locally developed open source system;
  • working with faculty for course use of streaming media; and
  • statistical analysis of the collection.

 

The presenters are Erika Peterson is the Director of Media Resources and Cheri Duncan is the Director, Acquisitions & Cataloging, at James Madison University.  Their “comments are based on their experience in building and maintaining a collection of streaming video, including selection, licensing, digitization, and access at James Madison University.”

Scheduled for Wednesday, April 18, 2012 the session is intended to last one hour, starting: 11am Pacific | 12 Mountain | 1pm Central | 2pm Eastern

To register, complete the online registration form or or register by mail for the session you would like to attend.  Fees are listed at  ALCTS: You Ought To Be in Pictures:Bringing Streaming Video to Your Library

Pin It

Comments are closed.