ARL Selects 2011-2013 Diversity Scholars

Washington, DC—The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Committee on Diversity and Leadership has selected 13 masters of library and information science (MLIS) students to participate in the 2011-2013 Initiative to Recruit a Diverse Workforce (IRDW) as ARL Diversity Scholars.

The ARL IRDW offers numerous financial benefits as well as leadership development offered through the annual ARL Leadership Symposium, a formal mentor program, career placement assistance, and a research library visit hosted by the Purdue University Libraries. The program is funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and by voluntary contributions from 52 ARL member libraries. This program reflects the commitment of ARL members to create a diverse academic and research library community that will better meet the challenges of changing demographics in higher education and the emphasis on global perspectives in the academy.

The 2011-2013 ARL Diversity Scholars are:

Regina Carter, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Amber D’Ambrosio, University at Albany, SUNY
Carlos Duarte, University of Texas at Austin
Jennifer Garrett, University of British Columbia
Jennifer Gibson, San Jose State University
Don Jason, Kent State University
Nabil Kashyap, University of Michigan
Arthur Liu, Simmons College
Yumi Ohira, Emporia State University
Brandon Taylor, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Megan Threats, Syracuse University
Sarah Velasquez, Emporia State University
Kimberly Yang, University of Maryland, College Park

More information about the ARL IRDW can be found at:

Pin It

Comments are closed.