ALCTS Announces Winner of HARRASSOWI​TZ-Sponsor​ed Leadership in Library Acquisitio​ns Award

HARRASSOWITZ is pleased to announce that the Acquisitions Section of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) has selected Eleanor Cook, Associate Professor and Assistant Director for Collections & Technical Services at East Carolina University, Joyner Library, to receive the 2011 Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award. For more than 15 years, HARRASSOWITZ has sponsored this award, which is given annually to recognize the significant contributions by an outstanding leader in the field of acquisitions librarianship. According to the Acquisitions Section of ALCTS, this year’s winner, Eleanor Cook,

has a particularly strong record of dedicated service to the profession and has served in a number of positions at various libraries since she began her  professional career. For the past 30 years, she has made continuing and lasting contributions to acquisitions librarianship.

HARRASSOWITZ is proud to provide the funding for this award and congratulates Ms. Cook on her achievements. The award will be presented on Sunday, June 26, at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the 2011 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in New Orleans. Dr. Knut Dorn, HARRASSOWITZ Senior Managing Partner and Director of Sales, will also be in attendance.

Previous Recipients of the Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award are:

2010 no award given
2009 Trisha Davis
2008 Karen Darling
2007 Nancy Gibbs
2006 Stephen Bosch
2005 Scott Wicks
2004 Kent Mulliner
2003 Julia Gammon
2002 Rosann Bazirjian
2001 Karen Schmidt
2000 Frances C. Wilkinson
1999 Carol Pitts Diedrichs
1998 Christian M. Boissonnas
1997 Katina Strauch
1996 Joseph W. Barker
1995 Carol E. Chamberlain

For more information on Ms. Cook’s achievements, please see the ALCTS’ press release here:

For more information regarding the purpose, criteria, and submission procedure of the award, please visit:

Pin It

Comments are closed.