ALCTS webinar: Digital Preservation: An introduction to the basic concepts on November 17, 2010

ALCTS webinar: Digital Preservation: An introduction to the basic concepts

Date: November 17, 2010

All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, noon Mountain, and 11am Pacific Time.

Description: This webinar will discuss the fundamentals of digital preservation. Upon completion of the webinar, attendees will be able to define digital preservation, discuss significant threats to digital materials, describe tools for addressing these threats, explain three key concepts of digital preservation, and be able to identify sources for further information on the topic. Intended audience members are library staff with responsibilities for digital projects and those interested in getting an introduction of the basics of digital preservation.

Presenter: Cathy Martyniak, Preservation and Storage Librarian, University of Florida and Emily Gore, Head of Digital Initiatives, Clemson University.

Cathy Martyniak has been the Preservation Librarian at the University of Florida since 1999. Her research interests include digital preservation, interactions between library staff at off-site storage and preservation units and grant writing. She received her MLS from the University of Pittsburgh in 1996.

To Register, complete the online registration form at http://www.ala.org/ala/onlinelearning/reg/webinar.cfm for the session you would like to attend.

Fees:
Group Rates – ALCTS Members & Non-Members: $99
Individuals – ALCTS Members: $39; Non-Members: $49
Participants outside the United States may register at the ALCTS member rate.

The one-time fee includes unlimited access to the webinar recording.

For questions about registration, contact Tom Ferren, ALA Senior Registration Coordinator at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 4293 or tferren@ala.org.

Pin It

Comments are closed.